Skip to main content

Scandinavian Studies Award deadline March 29

The Scandinavian Studies Award is a monetary award of up to $750 for an outstanding paper or project on a Scandinavian-related theme, given annually by the Augustana Scandinavian studies program.

The award recognizes excellent undergraduate research and creative scholarship and is open to students from any discipline whose work has engaged with Sweden, the Nordic region or its related cultures. (The Nordic region includes Denmark, the Faroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sápmi, Svalbard, and Sweden). 

Submissions may be within the natural and social sciences as well as the humanities, and range from fieldwork completed in the Nordic region, to culture and literary studies, music, and the arts. The topic of this research and creative work may have a broad scope, as long as it includes a comparative perspective that anchors it in the Nordic region in a significant way. 

Submissions are made by the students themselves. Students should consult with faculty to prepare a professional version of their papers or projects. Applicants may submit work from any point in their college career. Co-authored submissions also will be considered, as long as both authors are Augustana students. 

Winners will receive recognition at the Augustana Honors Convocation in May as well as a monetary award. Winning entries also will have the opportunity to be published on the Augustana Digital Commons.  

Submissions must be delivered as a hard copy to the mailbox of Dr. Mark Safstrom in Denkmann Building Room 114, and a copy by email to

The entry deadline is 4 p.m. March 29.

Submissions should include:

• A cover page with your name, paper or project title, a description of the course to which this was originally submitted, the instructor’s name, and the term in which it was originally completed.

• A brief letter of endorsement by a faculty member. The faculty member should explain the context in which the paper or project was completed, endorse the value of the work, and include relevant notes about the revision process that went into the final submission for this award.

Award recipients will be notified in mid-April. Entries will be evaluated by the Wallenberg Grant Committee, which includes Jennifer Burnham, David Crowe, Lisa Huntsha, Adam Kaul and Mark Safstrom. This award was established through a grant from the Marianne and Marcus Wallenberg Foundation.


Dr. Mark Safstrom, 309-794-7329

Share your news

If you have news, send it to! We love hearing about the achievements of our alumni, students and faculty.