Skip to main content

Class Notes

Notices received as of July 3, 2024


Karen Smith Newby released a book entitled "Beautiful Creation: Tanzania." 


Greg King was inducted into the Illinois Athletic Directors Association Hall of Fame. He retired in 2021 as the athletic director at Sterling High School.


Lisa Farran Shover was promoted to assistant athletic director of business operations at Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, Ill.


Douglas Bourne owns Audio Tour Alaska LLC, where he operates an app that provides GPS tours to Alaska visitors through their smartphones.


Alex Hartz received a Golden Apple teacher award for 2024. He teaches algebra and calculus at Hononegah Community High School in Rockton, Ill.

Ashley (A-Tay) Schreck is the current president-elect for the Rotary Club of Peoria-North, sworn in as president in June for the 2024-2025 Rotary Year. She will be attending the Rotary International Convention in Singapore.


Zachary Holland was selected for inclusion in the "Marquis Who's Who Biographical Registry." He is an optometrist at the Cornea Contact Lens Institute of Minnesota.


Hunter Hill was inducted into the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.


Katrina Friedrich Saladin graduated from the University of Minnesota with a Master of Public Health (community health promotion).

Chris Saladin accepted a tenure-track faculty position in the History Department at Rowan University in New Jersey.


Ashley Shropshire was promoted to associate director of youth development at Youth Crossroads in Berwyn, Ill.


Emma Albers-Lopez graduated from the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine with a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine in May 2024. She has accepted a position at Midwest Animal Hospital in Orland Park, Ill.

Austin Pena graduated from dental school at University of Illinois Chicago.


Kayla Millan received her Doctorate in Occupational Therapy from Rush University in April 2024.


Notices received as of July 3, 2024

Hettie Landon  ’49 Beers on June 13, 2024.

Lillian Linder  ’49 Ries on June 5, 2019.

Norma Johnson  ’50 Maigaard on June 8, 2024.

Curtis Trevor  ’51 on June 22, 2024.

Ardo Holmgrain  ’52 on June 7, 2024.

Jean Nelson  ’52 Larson on May 30, 2024.

Eunice Johnson  ’52 Puzzo on Feb. 17, 2024.

Robert Rod  ’53 on May 22, 2024.

John Anderson  ’54 on May 14, 2024.

*Joyce Rahn  ’54 Granade on May 28, 2024.

Ralph Page  ’54 on May 27, 2024.

Maj-Britt Hilstrom  ’54 on May 4, 2024.

Charles Moline  ’57 on June 6, 2024.

*Sonja Johnson  ’59 on March 19, 2024.  

Aulis Lind  ’59 on May 7, 2024.

Robert Moffitt  ’60 on May 31, 2024.

Cynthia Roseman  ’60 Wright on March 29, 2024.

*Ronald Short  ’61 on May 20, 2024.

John Lucken  ’62 on May 23, 2024.

Judy Holmstrom  ’64 Pearson on April 29, 2024.

Bruce Appelgren  ’68 on May 28, 2024.

Wayne Horn  ’70 on May 17, 2024.

Gary Keckler  ’71 on June 7, 2024.

Joan Herrstrum  ’72 Hendricks on June 15, 2024.

Leanne Ellinor  ’73 Alhorn on May 19, 2024.

Anne Ryan  ’74 McGlynn on June 2, 2024.

Jane Petschow  '74 on Nov. 27, 2023.

Roger Swartzbaugh  ’74 on May 19, 2024.

Lynette Hoyles  ’90 on June 11, 2024.

If you have news, send it to! We love hearing about the achievements of our alumni, students and faculty.