Skip to main content

Excellence in the Liberal Arts winners

Ten Augustana juniors are the recipients of the Excellence in the Liberal Arts Award, which provides students with $400-$4,000 for international study or summer programs in the humanities. It was established by Dr. Dan Lee, professor of religion, and his wife, Ruth Lee.

The 2019 recipients of the award are:

Taylor Ashby, a religion and psychology major from Batavia, Ill.

Nadia Ayensah, a political science and philosophy major from Cape Coast, Ghana.

Haley DeGreve, a communication studies and business administration-marketing major from Moline, Ill.

Christian Elliott, an anthropology and environmental studies major from Blue Grass, Iowa.

Mikaela Ferrara, a history and anthropology major from Genoa, Ill.

Natalie Hardy, a neuroscience, biology, and philosophy major from Des Plaines, Ill.

Brittany Hatlestad, a biology and neuroscience major from New Windsor, Ill.

Catherine Priebe, a sociology and public health major from Wadsworth, Ill.

Justin Verlinden, a neuroscience and biology major from East Moline, Ill.

Ngan Vu, a psychology and biology major from Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.


The purpose of this award is to reward excellence in the liberal arts, including student academic achievement, amount of scholarly work done in the liberal arts including the humanities, achievement in co-curricular programs, and leadership and service both on and off-campus. 


Ashleigh Johnston, 309-794-7833 

If you have news, send it to! We love hearing about the achievements of our alumni, students and faculty.