Skip to main content

Three students share 2020 Geifman Prize

Three students will share the annual Geifman Prize in Holocaust Studies, a competition in which students write or compose in music and art their responses to the Holocaust.

The Center for the Study of Judaism and Jewish Culture at Augustana sponsors the competition. Supported by the Geifman Endowment, the Geifman Prize in Holocaust Studies carries an award of up to $500.

Submissions can take the form of an essay, research paper, poem, drama, film, artwork, musical composition or other creative expression.

The winning students are:

T.J. Coleman, a senior from Omaha, Neb., majoring in political science and history: "From Leaflets to Tweets: A Rhetorical Analysis of the Propoganda Tools Used by the Nazi Party and Donald Trump."

Joseph Knapik, a junior from Prospect Heights, Ill., majoring in history and religion, "The Problem of Jewish Agency in the Holocaust."

Kathryn Weber, a senior from Silvis, Ill., majoring in history and history education, "The National Socialists and How They Ostracized an Entire Population."

"This year's submissions broke the old record in numbers and quality," said Dr. Janina Ehrlich, professor of music and chair of Augustana's Center for the Study of Judaism and Jewish Culture. "We are so pleased that our students have the courage, analytical skills, and compassion to probe this difficult topic."

The winners will present their work at the Celebration of Learning and have it published in the Augustana Digital Commons.

Entries were evaluated by the board of the Center for the Study of Judaism and Jewish Culture: Dr. Ehrlich; David Ellis, associate professor of history; Jason Mahn, professor of religion; Doug Parvin, associate professor of philosophy; Rowen Schussheim-Anderson, professor of art; Heidi Storl, professor of philosophy; Chris Strunk, associate professor of geography; and Mike Wolf, professor of geology.

If you have news, send it to! We love hearing about the achievements of our alumni, students and faculty.