How to set up a piece for print
Jump to:
- Understanding print terms
- Helpful things to know
- Common questions
- Print vs. promotional item set-up
- How to set up a flyer, poster, booklet or trifold brochure for the Copy Center
- How to export a file for print
- Packaging files for print from InDesign
- How to request off-campus vendor printing
- How to review a proof
- Want to learn more about graphic design?
Understanding print terms
Bleed, trim size, crop marks and binding are common terms used in the printing process, and understanding them can help when preparing files for print.
The trim size is the final size you want your printed piece to be. Your file should be that size in InDesign or another page layout program. In the example, the trim is shown as a dark blue line. (Your art will not have that line at the trim edge.)
The bleed is art extending outside of the trim area, ensuring no white edges show on your final piece. You ideally want a ⅛ inch bleed on all sides. Any images/color intended to go to the edge of your piece need to be extended to the bleed.
Margins and safety areas are included in most pieces as an area with no elements that will be printed (or no important elements) so that the print vendor can safely trim a piece without accidentally cutting off an important part. If you place text or images too close to the margins, they will be cut off or lost in the fold of a booklet.
- Projects with bleed:
- Safety area: At least ¼ inch from the trim line, ideally ⅜ inch.
- Margins: At least 1 inch from the trim line on the left and right of the page/spread, sometimes 1 ½ inches
- The gutter refers to the margins on each page along the center fold of a booklet. They are usually half the size of the outer margins.
- 1” outer margin = 1/2” center margin on each page = 1” gutter
- 1 1/2” outer margin = 3/4” center margin on each page = 1 1/2” gutter
- Projects without bleed:
- A ¼ inch minimum, ideally ⅜ inch non-printable area of empty space is standard on a project without bleed. Any artwork placed in this area will not be printed
- Safety area: At least 1/2 inch from the trim line, ideally 3/4 inch.
Margins: At least 1 inch from the trim line on the left and right of the page/spread, sometimes 1 ½ inches - Gutter:
- 1” outer margin = 1/2” center margin on each page = 1” gutter
- 1 1/2” outer margin = 3/4” center margin on each page = 1 1/2” gutter
Crop and bleed marks are the marks you see on the outer edges of the example, which guide your printer on where to trim the project after printing. These are generated automatically when you export your file and ask for crop and bleed marks.
Binding is a finishing method when a multi-page project is printed. See Augustana’s Copy Center to learn more about their binding services or discuss finishing with an off campus print vendor.
Packaging a file: In Adobe InDesign and Illustrator, you can collect all of the fonts and linked images into one folder to be zipped and sent to the printer. Packaging a file includes the opportunity to add a PDF file, too — make sure your settings in PDF Export include crops and bleeds for us to use that file for production.
Soft proof: Off-campus vendors will often send files to proof using PDFs to view on a computer screen (“soft proof”) instead of printing a proof on an output device (“hard proof”).
Helpful things to know
Printing color codes – to help you tell a vendor what you would like to order
- First number: Tells how many colors go on the front of the page.
- Second number: Tells how many colors go on the back of the page.
- 0: no ink (blank or unprinted side).
- 1: one color (usually black ink).
- 4: full color or standard CMYK (Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, Black) process printing
- 4/4: full color on both sides of the paper
- 1/0: one color on the front and nothing on the back
- For full-color print pieces that require a specific PMS color or metallic ink, add +X (X is the number of colors) to the code (e.g., metallic ink on a diploma or logo).
Digital vs. offset printing – to help you when reviewing a quote from a vendor
- Digital printing: Transfers files directly from a computer to the printer using toner or liquid ink, similar to an office machine, but larger and faster.
- Best for small quantities (usually under 1,000 copies)
- Fast turnaround, sometimes less expensive than offset for smaller quantities
- On-Demand Printing: Print only what you need, when you need it, preventing obsolete inventory and storage clutter.
- Variable Data Printing (VDP) allows changes to text, graphics, serial numbers, or personalized names on every single piece in a single run.
- Offset printing: Uses heavy metal plates to transfer wet ink onto a rubber cylinder, which then rolls the image onto the paper.
- Best for large volume runs (1,000+ copies)
- Setup costs are fixed during plate creation, meaning the cost per piece drops significantly as your total print quantity increases.
- Delivers ultra-sharp details, high resolution, and precise color matching using standard CMYK or custom Pantone mixing.
Common questions
What should I consider when choosing images for a print piece?
- Most new cameras and phones have a good enough resolution to use in print pieces. However, do not use screenshots or downloads from social media.
- Keep copyright law top of mind. Do not use images that you don’t have the rights to. Only use images that you know you took or have permission to use.
- Examples of items not to use: photos found on Google images, brand logos, or other people’s photos that you don’t have permission to use.
- Also consider the resolution of the image. The resolution is determined by how many pixels/dots fit in one inch. Most print pieces require a minimum resolution of 300 DPI (dots per inch) to be clear and sharp on the page.
- Remember that enlarging a small image does not improve its resolution.
- Last, you will also need to convert images from RGB (used for digital) to CMYK, or the colors won’t be accurate.
Can I use AI to create a print piece?
- You are welcome to use AI to brainstorm and think about what you want your piece to look like, but we recommend using AI for ideation only. When it comes to actually designing a piece, AI does not create print-ready projects.
- Here are the main things to watch out for:
- Incorrect sizing
- Incorrect format
- Low-quality image resolution
- Imagined text and images that you did not want to include
- Not editable by a human
- Once you create an AI piece, there’s no guarantee that it is what you asked it to be until you get it to the printer. At that point, you may need to start over with your entire project. This will be even more difficult because you can’t edit the AI piece using traditional design software.
How do I resize a pdf?
If your PDF is the incorrect size for print, go back to the software you used to create it, adjust the dimensions and save a new PDF. If you don’t have access to the software it was created in, try these methods to resize:
- Use Adobe Acrobat (Pro or Reader)
- Open your PDF and navigate to File > Print, to open the print window
- Set the printer to Adobe PDF or Microsoft Print to PDF
- Under Page Sizing & Handling choose:
- Fit: Scales pages up or down to fit the paper
- Custom Scale: Enter an exact percentage to magnify or reduce the content
- For Custom page dimensions, click Properties > Advanced > Paper Size > PostScript Custom Page Size to type in a new width and height values. Then proceed to save a new PDF using the print window.
- Use Mac Preview
- Open the PDF in the Preview app on Mac
- Click the Show Markup toolbar icon, then select Adjust Size.
- Type in new width and height values or choose a scale percentage
- Save the file
- Use Microsoft Word (Windows/Mac)
- Open Microsoft Word and go to File > Open to select your PDF (Word will convert it for editing). Look over your content to make sure nothing got lost or shifted around in the conversion process.
- Navigate to the Layout tab and click Size in the Page Setup group.
- Select a preset or click More Paper Sizes to type in custom dimensions.
- Go to File > Save As and choose PDF as the format
How do I turn a file into a pdf?
- From Google Docs
- File > Download > PDF Document (.pdf)
- From Microsoft Word
- File > Save As > PDF
- From Canva
- Share > Download > PDF (Print) > Download
- Adobe Illustrator
- File > Save As/Save a Copy/Export > Adobe PDF (pdf)
- Adobe InDesign
- File > Export > Adobe PDF (Print)
- Don’t have the program the file was made in?
- Open the document, image, or file you want to convert.
- File > Print
- Look for the Printer dropdown menu.
- Select Microsoft Print to PDF (Windows), Save as PDF (Mac/Chrome), or PDF.
- Click Print or Save, choose your destination folder, and name your file
How do I merge files (pdf or not) into one pdf?
Use the Adobe Acrobat Online Merge PDF Tool or the Adobe Acrobat Desktop App:
All Tool > Combine Files > Select Files > Combine files and download a PDF
Print vs. promotional item set-up
How to set up a file for a T-shirt
The basics
- Before designing a T-shirt, ask the vendor you’re working with for the imprint size or a template for the T-shirt, including location choices.
- You can then create a design in any traditional design software.
- Your file must be set up as a vector file (.svg, .ai, .eps., etc).
- All text and strokes must be outlined.
- If your text isn't outlined and the vendor doesn’t have the font you want to use, your text will be converted to a generic font.
- To ensure your design is printed correctly, outline any text you have on your design. Keep in mind that after outlining your text it becomes uneditable.
- You also need to outline any strokes you use in your design. This ensures that the artwork can be scaled up or down without compromising the design.
- All colors have to be CMYK
- You will need to provide a CMYK color breakdown if you do not choose a specific PMS color.
- You can also let the vendor know that the color accuracy is not as important to you as the design, and they can help you choose colors.
- No gradients, transparency or graphic effects can be used unless you’re printing in full color.
- Using photos for a T-shirt design can get complicated, so we do not recommend it for beginning users.
- Bitmap photos cannot be used.
- You cannot convert photos to vector.
- You would need a designer’s help to trace a photo using Adobe Illustrator, which our office will not be able to assist with.
- Color of your shirt vs. design colors
- Make sure to keep in mind the color contrast of the shirt color and the colors on your design. Make sure there is high contrast so that it’s clear and sharp to others.
What will increase or decrease your cost?
Color
- 1-color – least expensive option.
- 2-color – middle-ground option.
- Up to 4-color – less common, more expensive; most T-shirts do not need this to look nice.
- Full-color – most expensive
Location
Most quotes you get from a vendor will show 1 location, 1 color as your most economical option.
- The most common location is front/center (middle of the front of the T-shirt).
- You can also choose a right or left front chest print for a logo or insignia.
- Another common location is the back of the shirt.
- Including two locations adds expense.
When you add color and location together, expenses can increase (i.e., two-color, two-location shirts are much more expensive than one-color, one-location shirts).
Quantity
A larger quantity of shirts will decrease your cost per shirt; a lower quantity will increase your cost per shirt, and may sometimes add a minimum quantity fee in addition to other costs.
How to set up a flyer, poster, booklet or trifold brochure for the Copy Center
For more information about Augustana’s Copy Center services, visit the Augustana Copy Center webpage.
Flyer
- Example of flyer without bleed
- Size: 8.5x11 (printer paper) or 11x17 (slightly larger poster size)
- Paper weight: printer paper weight or 28# (slightly heavier)
- Software you can use: Adobe, Canva, or other
- Set up as CMYK
- Save as PDF
Large format poster
- Size: 22x28 (ex. OSL Brew Poster) or 24x36 (standard larger poster size)
- Software you can use: Adobe, Canva, or other
- Set up as CMYK
- Save as PDF
Booklet
- Example of a booklet without bleed
- Common booklet sizes
- 5.5 x 8.5 (flat size: 11 x 8.5)
- 8.5 x 11 (flat size: 11 x 17)
- Paper weight: printer paper weight or 28# (slightly heavier)
- Set up as CMYK
- Booklets should be set up in multiples of four (i.e. 4 pages, 8, 12, 16, etc.), and sent to the Copy Center as single-page files.
- The Augustana Copy Center cannot print with bleed, so your booklet should follow these guidelines:
- ¼ inch non printable space on all sides; any artwork placed in this area will not be printed
- Your safe area to place text is at least ½ inch, ideally ¾ inch from the trim edge on the left and right of the spread.
- Margins: At least 1” (solid black line), sometimes 1 ½ inches (solid gray line), from the trim line on the left and right of the page/spread.
- The margins along the center fold, or the gutter, should be 1” minimum, ideally 1 1/2”
Trifold brochure
- We recommend bifold instead of trifold brochures, because of less risk for error.
- Size:
- Bifold: 8.5x11 – folded down to 5.5x8.5 OR 11x17 folded down to 8.5x11
- Trifold: 8.5x11 – first panel: 3.7” | second panel: 3.7” | last panel: 3.6”
- Leave ¼” on the fold or your text will be on or over the fold.
- Paper weight: printer paper weight or 28# (slightly heavier)
- Software to use: Adobe, Canva, or other
- Set up as CMYK
- Save as PDF
How to export a file for print
Before exporting your project, ensure that your file is set up correctly.
- Is your file set up as CMYK?
- Print files are set up as CMYK (Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, Black) so that they display with the correct colors.
- If you print without changing to CMYK, the colors will not match what is on your computer screen. This is OK, but something to keep in mind if you see that the colors have shifted on a printed piece vs. your computer design.
- Is this a booklet or a single-page document?
- Double-sided pieces should be centered on both sides so they line up correctly.
- Booklets should be set up in multiples of four (i.e. 4 pages, 8, 12, 16, etc.), and sent to the Copy Center as single-page files.
- NOTE: The Augustana College Copy Center only accepts PDF files. The Copy Center cannot print with bleed (which means any ink running past the edges of the page), so do not add crop marks or bleed.
Copy Center
Exporting a PDF without bleed for print from Adobe InDesign
If you are printing with the Augustana Copy Center and you set your file up in InDesign, please do the following to export a PDF for print:
- Make sure your design has ¼ inch minimum, ideally ⅜ inch non-printable area of empty space. Any artwork placed in this area will not be printed.
- Select Export from the File Menu, and under Format select Adobe PDF (Print). Click Save.
- In the Export Adobe PDF window, select [High Quality Print] from the Adobe PDF Preset Menu. Under on Marks and Bleeds on the left side, make sure nothing is selected.
Off-campus vendor
Exporting a PDF with bleed for print from Adobe InDesign
If you are printing with an off campus vendor and you set your file up in InDesign with bleed, please do the following to export a PDF for print:
- Any elements that go to the edge of the page should extend past the edge of the page in your layout to avoid unwanted white edges on the printed product.
- Select Export from the File Menu, and under Format select Adobe PDF (Print). Click Save.
- In the Export Adobe PDF window, select [High Quality Print] from the Adobe PDF Preset Menu. Click on Marks and Bleeds on the left side. Under Marks and Bleeds, select Crop Marks and Bleed Marks. Under Bleed, check the box next to “Use Document Bleed Settings.” If you set up your file correctly with bleed, it will automatically populate the bleed measurements.
- Check the PDF to ensure the art goes past the edges where you want bleeds. If not, go back into your design and fix those elements and download a new PDF.
Packaging files for print from InDesign
If you created your files in InDesign and are ready to send them to print, common practice is to package your files. Packaging your files collects all the fonts, images and graphics into a folder so that when you send it to print, the vendor can easily work with the file without any missing elements. Follow the steps below to package a file for print from InDesign.
- With your project open in InDesign, navigate to the File Menu, and select Package.
- The package settings window will open and if there are any issues with your file, they may be displayed here.
- If everything looks good, hit the package button. A new window will open prompting you to select a location to save the packaged files.
- In this window, there are checkboxes for what you want included in the folder.
- If not already, check on the boxes for:
- Copy Fonts (except added from Adobe Fonts)
- Copy Linked Graphics
- Update Graphic Links in Package
- Include IDML
- Include PDF (Print)
- Click Package
- Check in the packaged folder now in your files, to make sure your PDF has bleed and crop marks if needed. If not, follow the steps above on how to export a PDF with bleed for print from Adobe InDesign to replace the PDF in the packaged folder.
How to request off-campus vendor printing
Reach out to Communication & Marketing for help with vendor outreach including printing servings, mailing and promotional items.
How to review a proof
Once an outside vendor receives your files, they will process them for print and send you a proof, which is a preview of what the final printed project will look like. The proof is not a time to make any further design changes. It’s a final chance to see how the piece will look once printed and to fix any true mistakes. Once you approve the proof, it means that you approve of everything on the piece being printed as is.
You can request either a digital (soft) or physical printed proof. Soft proofs are sufficient for most projects but you might want to request a physical proof if the piece has never been printed before, uses different photos than previous versions, or you plan to print a large quantity.
Keep in mind that even though print files use CMYK (Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, Black), colors on the proof may appear slightly different from the final product since you are viewing them on a screen. Colors on a physical proof should look exactly how they will when they are printed, however they are usually on different paper than your final project.
Things to look for when reviewing a proof:
- Make sure your content (text or subjects in your images) aren’t too close to the edge of your piece or too close to the center fold, if the piece has a fold.
- Double check that the colors are appearing the way you want them to.
- Carefully scan the text for any typos.
- Scan any QR codes to ensure that they are working properly.
- Make sure that your image resolution looks good in print.
Augustana’s Copy Center will not send a proof, so make sure you have it right before you send.
Want to learn more about graphic design?
The graphic design major and minor encourages you to grow your own unique design process while applying design skills across a range of projects spanning from social concerns to corporate branding.
Graphic design majors begin with study of typography and design in both digital and analog contexts. Core classes provide foundational knowledge from the design field. An expansive list of electives invites you to follow your interests. Advanced studio classes examine the ways in which design shapes culture and fosters creative pursuits.
Upper-level studio courses provide space and support for design students to make work with their specific life goals in mind. Seniors enjoy flexible Senior Inquiry (SI) options: studio-based project, 4-credit internship or the completion of SI requirement in a different area of study.