Skip to main content

Augustana College Alumni Association Board meeting Oct. 4-5, 2018

Business meeting – Gerber Center

Board members: Jane Baker, Elizabeth Choporis, Maliek Combs, Loryann Eis, Brent Ericson, Jake Glimco, Sam Latham, Sarah Lickus, Julie Maring Driexler, Darien Marion-Burton, Kyle Nelson, Bruce Peterson, Michael Ricaurte, Angie Sharp, Melissa Shore, Greg Stopka and Hannah Sundwall. Advisory members John Glimco, Sheryl O’Bryan Johnson, Dale Owen and Jessica Waytenick. Administrative staff: Kelly Noack.

The Augustana College Alumni Association Board of Directors convened on Thursday, Oct. 4, 2018, at the Ken Anderson Club for dinner, introductions, and to hear from President Bahls. President Angie Sharp called the meeting to order at 7:35 p.m. The board reaffirmed the Alumni Board Standards of Service.

Prior to the business meeting on Friday, Oct. 5, 2018, the Alumni Board heard from various campus departments.

The business meeting was called to order at 2:50 p.m. by President Angie Sharp.

President Sharp asked for any discussion on the minutes from the spring 2017 meeting. Bruce Peterson voiced a correction that he was incorrectly listed as a retiring board member. Michael Ricaurte made a motion to approve the corrected minutes; the motion was seconded by Loryann Eis, and approved by voice vote by the board with no objections.

Committee reports

Philanthropy Committee (Chair: Michael Ricourte) – Four key donation dates throughout the year including Dec. 31, June 30, A Day of Giving in the spring, and Day of Giving in November. Alumni Board members were each given a goal of getting 2-3 new or increased gifts from alumni before the spring board meeting. Each received a list and script. It will also be emailed. Contact Cameron in the Advancement Office for more details on your list.

Cameron Hall and Julie Scarpinato presented to the board in the morning about the Augustana NOW campaign and its goal of $125M. Goal: Growing alumni participation and growing Augustana Fund.

Affinity Building (Chair: Elizabeth Choporis) – New idea to organize micro-networking events that key alumni can handle without Advancement Office staff. Two affinity signature events:

First year – Receive pin at Welcome Weekend after convocation and Short Goodbye; part of Welcome to Augustana.

Senior – During new Senior Sendoff event the weekend of Commencement, receive alumni pin.

Career Development (Chair: Dale Owen) – Build off previous success with new staff at CORE. Alumni Board can fill in the connection gaps between CORE, faculty, staff, and Advancement Office. Leslie Scheck and Erica Ewert presented to the Board in the morning their ideas for more job shadowing and identifying key companies for student internships and careers.

Career Development Award is for an individual or organization that has advanced the careers of Augustana students.

Jessica Waytenick made a motion to change the name of the Diversity Award to the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award, and the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee to develop the criteria for the award going forward.  The motion was seconded by Michael Ricaurte, and approved by voice vote by the Board with no objections.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (Chair: Tom Collins) – Tom was unable to attend the fall meeting so Sheryl O’Bryan Johnson was substitute chair for this meeting. She moved to change the name of the committee to match Augustana’s department name. The motion was seconded by Melissa Shore, and approved by voice vote by the board with no objections. 

Dr. Monica Smith, Vice President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, presented to the board about the projects she is working on including professional development, curriculum review, international student orientation, and graduate education preparation.

Working through Monica’s office, Maliek Combs and Damien Marion-Burton would like to work with groups and students. Maliek gave the example of his student trip to Chicago to tour another part of the country and bond with fellow students.

Angie Sharp moved to add the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award to the by-laws. The motion was seconded by Michael Ricaurte, and approved by voice vote by the board with no objections. 

Other business

Joshua Schipp’s resignation from the Alumni Board was approved by the board.

By-Law changes

Section 7; Paragraph a. The Board shall have the power to fill vacancies occurring in its membership. The process for filling vacancies is under the direction of the Committee on Nominations and Awards, with direction from the Office of Alumni Relations, pending the vote of the full Board.

Section 8; Paragraph b. The officers shall be elected annually from the membership of the Board. The President is elected to a two-year term. The Vice President and Secretary are elected to one-year terms. At the fall meeting, the President shall announce those positions open for election for the upcoming term. Board members interested in an available position shall have the opportunity to self-nominate by Feb. 1.  In the event that an available position has no candidates, an invitation to self-nominate shall be resubmitted to the Board with a deadline of March 1. Prior to the spring meeting, the slate of candidates shall be presented to the Board as part of the agenda. At the spring meeting, each candidate shall have an opportunity to present themselves and their interest to the Board. The Board shall vote by ballot at the spring meeting. Results shall be tallied by the sitting officers and a representative of the college and presented during the meeting. Offices are assumed immediately following the spring meeting.

Sarah Lickus made a motion to accept the by-law changes presented above; the motion was seconded by Jake Glimco, and approved by voice vote by the board with no objections.

Damien Marion-Burton made the suggestion to post the approved meeting minutes on the Alumni Board section of the website.

Spring meeting

Friday, May 17, and Saturday, May 18, to be present during the Senior Sendoff Dinner

Michael Ricaurte made a motion to adjourn; the motion was seconded by Jake Glimco, and approved by the board.  The meeting was adjourned at 3:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Jessica Waytenick '99